Are You a Blogger Who Makes or a Maker Who Blogs?

Because, let’s face it.  These are two different approaches to blogging.

Are you a Blogger or a Maker first?  |  knittedhome.blogspot.com
When I first discovered this idea, I was rocking my daughter to sleep + the question came at me like a riddle.  Which one are you? it wanted to know.  It took a couple of rockings for me to decide.  

A Blogger Who Makes

You blog to tell a story + if your craft or wares come into the picture, it is because they are part of your story.  You blog to put your voice out there + to hear others validate your thoughts through comments + shares.  You may blog to build a community through more interactive approaches like knitalongs + link parties.

You probably have quite a few categories of topics that you love to cover and this helps you build a large following around many topics.  My personal favorites are sustainable family living, crafting, and minimalism.

Some of my favorite Bloggers are Buckaloo View + Field*Wonderful + Thrifty Frugal Mama
 + Little House Living + High Heels & Two Wheels + Reading My Tea Leaves

A Maker Who Blogs

You blog to share your process or your wares with your fans + build a following around your product or services.  You want your readers to have behind-the-scenes access to your creative process + all that it entails.  You are most likely using your community’s feedback to better understand what your audience is seeking in your business.

Your categories are more in line with your business niche + less about your personal life (though I know plenty of business blogs that deviate from this).

I don’t find myself following as many of these blogs as the former, but when I do, I binge read them because they are full of self-help articles + pretty stylized images.  My favorites include:
Pickles + DarlingbeBrave + A Bowl Full of Lemons + Elle&Co + byRegina + KylaRoma

Certainly there isn’t only one way to blog.  And readers need a mixture to keep things interesting.  I just thought this would be fun to see who identifies with which personality. 

Ultimately I’m a Blogger first who happens to make + sell things.  Looking at how long I’ve been writing, what motivates me to write, and why I write, all point to my reason for blogging: community engagement.  That’s not to say I don’t want to monetize or mention my Etsy shop, but it does highlight the fact that those are or have become secondary to my motivation for reader engagement.

So I pose the same question to you:  Are you a Blogger who makes or a Maker who blogs?

via Blogger http://ift.tt/1as4Or2

4 thoughts on “Are You a Blogger Who Makes or a Maker Who Blogs?

  1. knittedblissjc says:

    oooh, an interesting question!! I think I’m a blogger who makes, but I’m not sure what that says about me. It’s definitely a different style of blogging, depending on which way you go- blogging is practically it’s own writing genre now.

    • knittedhome says:

      Thanks! I thought it was a fun topic to sit + mull over 🙂 I think it mostly helps bloggers “define” their approach to blogging as in how often, what to write about, etc.
      I completely agree – isn’t it weird? I used to consider blogging as just a “public journal” of sorts that started evolving into personally-published articles. But it surely has taken off into all sorts of directions!

  2. Catherine Denton says:

    I’m a blogger who makes! I tend to think every aspect of life is part of a story and I like sharing mine with others. 😀 You’ve got a beautiful blog here. I found you via Daring Creative Workshop on fb!

    • knittedhome says:

      Hi Catherine – Thanks for stopping by! I love our #daringcreative community that Kyla has created 🙂 I completely agree! I usually catch myself thinking, “Oo, I need to take some pictures + blog about this later…” whenever I get excited about some aspect or event happening in my life. It is so much fun to share your excited with others and the internet is great for finding kindred spirits!
      Thank you so much for your kind words + I look forward to checking out your blog next! 🙂

Leave a Reply

