EJ’s First Birthday Reflection

The Days are Long but the Nights are Short

It is an accepted fact that these little ones in our care grow up far too quickly.  And I think it has a lot to do with our struggle to keep up with the day-to-day of living (clean dishes anyone?) while still trying to stop + be fascinated with these tiny humans (that wrinkle-nose smile never gets old!).

So it is with this in mind that I say, “when did you grow up already!?” + “Slow down on that growing-up thing” so I can be in the moment with her more.  These desires to be present + observe all her little personality traits are what motivate me to get a dishwasher (true story) + hire a cleaning lady (if only for deep cleaning every couple months) + just outsource more housekeeping.  I don’t want to wake up one day to a clean house (though it would be lovely!) + find out my daughter is heading off to college.

But I digress.  Today is about EJ + her amazing milestone of turning ONE. YEAR. OLD.  The Humble Christian in me feels truly blessed when I say what a miracle it is to celebrate her birthday today because so many babies don’t make it (every story breaks my heart!).  I’m not trying to sound morbid, just acknowledging what an accomplishment it is.  And how proud I feel of our little family for getting here.

To all my New Mommy friends

Those endless nursing sessions + long nights really do fade away into yesterday.  Your nipples toughen up so quickly you don’t realize it until weeks later (at least I didn’t).  One night you wake up before Baby + realize they “missed” their feeding and you get to go back to sleep.  And then it happens another night until you are both “sleeping through the night”!
The amount of milestones + new teeth + outgrown clothing overlap so much you start to loose track which happened when.  Although I’ve been doing my best to remember “She first crawled the week after her 5 month birthday,” dated pictures (thank you smartphone!) have been my best memory keepers.  Thus backing them up to a hard drive + Shutterfly is a must for this Mama.
My biggest advice is to drink in their sweet baby smell every day.  Give them the biggest hug every time it crosses your mind.  Because one day they really will be “all grown up” + smashing cake at their first birthday party  🙂

Happy Birthday my Sweet Baby Girl!

Back up all those lovely photos + Have a great weekend!

via Blogger http://ift.tt/1GSdDqE

Leave a Reply

