Gardening has Started!

Please forgive me for my lack of posting last week.  I’m happy to say the beautiful summer weather has finally made it to our neck of the woods!  So any nap times have been spent outside trying to clear away winter debris + get our property ready for summer beauty…

Sunday after EJ’s party, I was able to rally my hubby + in-laws to fill in the trench around our home addition with top soil.  Even the young boys next door wanted to help us shovel it out of the truck and into the wheel borrow.  I loved how quickly it went with so many hands!

 

Friday I finally planted two large rhubarb starts during nap time and I’m so excited to see them taking root.  Saturday hubby picked up a truck load of compost to spread on top of the topsoil, around the rhubarb and around the back side of the addition for the future blueberry bed.

 

After I planted the rhubarb I got to work pulling out all the grass taking over our 3 remaining raised beds.  (Two? years ago hubby had to remove 2 beds in order to bury our electric line to the house).

 

It is definitely taking longer than I wanted.

 

But I’m so thrilled to see all the earth worms that have taken up residence in the beds!  I don’t remember seeing ONE when we were building + tilling them 3 years ago.

BONUS!

 

my dad is starting my Amish paste tomato + bell pepper seeds since I don’t have access to a sunny south window this year (or the time to remember to water them) and he sent me this picture last night of the SPROUTS!

How is your garden growing?

via Blogger http://ift.tt/1HKVrQx

5 thoughts on “Gardening has Started!

  1. Kim says:

    Hey Looking good! It’s so fun working the garden!! I am having fun watching my plants grow too! Yesterday I seen my okra is up!

    • knittedhome says:

      Thanks Kim! I loved getting a peak at your new garden, too! Finally + how exciting, right!? 😀 Can’t wait to jump over to your blog again + see more pictures! I hope you guys are all getting along great 🙂

Leave a Reply

