Give the Gift of Handmade: Mother’s Day edition

Give Handcrafted Gifts: Mother's Day edition  |  Knittedhome.wordpress.com

For those of us who struggle every year to find the * perfect * gift to express our love for our mothers, I’ve rounded up a few of my favorites from gifts given in years past as well as a few of my own favorites now that I get to celebrate as a recipient.  πŸ˜‰

Hot Mitts

If you’re going to give your mother something for the kitchen, it might as well be bright + full of personality so she doesn’t read too deeply into your gift πŸ˜‰  But really, who doesn’t love extra thick, durable, washable + SPUNKY new accessories?

Everyone whose every used a pair of these hot mitts has raved about their quality + personality.  You can read about their upcycled construction here.

hot mitts |  knittedhome.etsy.com

In the Bath

If you can’t afford that massage + spa package, why not bring the spa to her everyday?  The soap saver not only gently exfoliates + scrubs, but it uses her favorite soap to the last bubble!

Homestead soaps is by far my favorite + only soap I use now for my dry (eczema) skin.  It is with her bars in mind that I designed the soap saver to fit around perfectly.

 Soap Savers  |  Knittedhome.etsy.com

Coasters

On the patio or in the living room, let’s not only preserve our surfaces but also bring some personality to our drinks.

 Pink Coasters  |  knittedhome.etsy.com

Tuck in a personalized mug from Shutterfly with a pack of 4 coasters.  A similar mug was well received this past Christmas by my own mother and new-grandmother….

Throw Pillows

What an easy way to update a home + bring some luxury to your mom’s favorite space!  Perhaps its her bedroom that needs a little luxury?  Or a comfy chair that needs a pop of color or texture?  These pillows are certain to fit the bill!  I can’t stop loving mine already πŸ™‚

Flowers!

I used to think, How boring.  Mom must be so tired of getting flowers every year.  But now that I’m a mom and I’m all about beautifying my property – I don’t think I could ever get sick of flowers.  You just need to be creative in the presentation:
Annie planting her Mom's new flower garden 2013  |  knittedhome.wordpress.com

I cleaned up + planted flowers for my Mom

I recently read online that someone’s Mother’s Day tradition is to buy the flowers together + plant them as a family.  I know what I want to be my tradition now…

If you don’t have a lot of space or time, a planter is always nice, too.

For my friends in the southern hemisphere…

Cowls

Keep your mom warm + stylin’ as the weather gets cooler.  I know plenty of ladies who don’t enjoy the large cowls for many reasons.  These minis are perfect for the woman who wants a warm neck without all the weight/extra fabric.
crochet shell mini cowl  |  knittedhome.etsy.com
These are so new they aren’t even listed in the shop yet!  But feel free to email me if you’re interested + I can ship them out as early as Thursday 5/7 morning!

Blankets

And my favorite gift that I’ve given countless times to my mama…  the throw blanket πŸ™‚  It has a special place in my heart because I like to think she is snuggled up + wrapped in my love.
Some years I’ve made her a fleece tie blanket, and other years I’ve worked weeks on a crocheted afghan.  But I’m happy to say they still get plenty of use from cold nights at the football stadium to naps on the couch.

watermelon Granny Chevron blanket  |  knittedhome.etsy.com
Do you give your mother a handcrafted gift?  What has been your favorite gift to give?

via Blogger http://bit.ly/1JPM6sF

2 thoughts on “Give the Gift of Handmade: Mother’s Day edition

  1. Mandy says:

    What a great list! I like to give my mom handmade things, tooβ€”often involving a quote that reminds me of her or of our relationship. πŸ™‚

    Happy Mother’s Day to you!

    (Found you via the Daring Creative Comment Crawl. :))

    • knittedhome says:

      Thanks Mandy! Nice to meet you πŸ™‚
      I hadn’t thought of quotes, and now with these cute new calligraphy framed quotes, I may try my hand at that this year. Thanks for the inspiration!

Leave a Reply

