Why You Should Take Your Small Business Seriously

When I came up with” knitted home” it was the first name that truly felt as close to RIGHT as I could get at the time.  I already had a good stack of inventory ready to be listed on Etsy but without a name, I couldn’t get started (though looking back, I could have taken all my measurements + written all my descriptions in a word document to copy + paste later).  I know I hurried that brainstorming session a bit more than was probably best, but I’m happy to say the name has stood the test of time and I still love it.

Lesson: don’t be afraid to brainstorm.  Write everything down to be organized later when you feel motivated + inspired. Creativity isn’t linear.

I still love this name so much, in fact, that now when I’m feeling ready to buy my domain name and it is already taken (!?!?!) I feel quite offended.  Even though I know I shouldn’t because I should have bought it back in 2010 when I first learned how to buy domain names with GoDaddy.  But fear held me back + now I regret it.

Lesson: don’t be afraid to buy your domain (you can always let it expire).  

If there’s one thing I’ve learned working with successful-out-of-the-gate handmade businesses, it’s that they built all their necessary business pieces (name, logo, style, personality, focus) from the get-go and didn’t wait until they felt “big” or like they had “made it” to start developing these key elements of their business.  
This is something I definitely did NOT do because I didn’t feel like anyone would take me seriously (big mistake!  If you don’t take yourself seriously, why should anyone else??)


Lesson: Treat your biz like a business.  Create all your biz elements right away + polish them later.

I guess the take away is don’t be afraid to jump in head first and get started.  I’m not saying quit your job + take out a loan against your house (unless you’ve already run the numbers and know it’ll pay off), but if there are small investments you can make to show that you + your biz are serious, it’s worth paying for in the beginning.  Don’t wait to gain a following only to find out your domain name/unique niche market is taken.

Don't be afraid to jump in HEAD FIRST | knittedhome.wordpress.com

What sparked your biz name?  What hard lessons did you learn in the beginning?

via Blogger http://bit.ly/1PukPdX

8 thoughts on “Why You Should Take Your Small Business Seriously

  1. Janet Murray says:

    Totally agree about diving in and not worrying about getting it perfect first time. It has taken me a long time to learn that giving it a go and fixing things as you go along is much better than doing nothing at all!

  2. Kim says:

    I agree, go big (from the start) or go home! Like you said, it’s generally a pretty small investment to get started and you can always let things expire or lapse. The day I got my business cards I felt like a true small business owner. It was so motivating and I think it cost me ten bucks!

    • knittedhome says:

      I agree, Kim! I think having business cards + later “true” branding labels really made me feel “legit”. 🙂
      I love packaging my sold items in a bag with knittedhome on it.

  3. ComaDiary says:

    This is something I’ve been thinking about of late. I need to brave, so I re-worked my blog content and am going to have to promote myself more, because I can’t afford to pay others to and maybe someone will see it? I think taking yourself seriously is quite a huge step, it’s almost saying “I’m here, this is what I do and I’m going to make it work”

    • knittedhome says:

      Taking myself/ my biz seriously was the hardest part for me. I’m traditionally an introvert, but I married an extrovert who has helped me build confidence in myself + my brand.
      As for marketing, I have some posts in the works so check back on Fridays. But consider word of mouth by family + friends, sharing your posts on social media, and when someone asks what you do, tell them about your blog/small business! 🙂 And never forget your blog friends: we all love to connect + promote each other!

  4. Kyla Roma says:

    This is such a great post! I sometimes try to ask myself, “What would I do if I knew for sure that this was the right time, and that I already have everything I need?”. I little creativity and pushing yourself out of your comfort zone now goes a long way, and like you said, you can always go back and make changes or improvement.

Leave a Reply

